CEWEP re-elects its President and Deputy Presidents

23rd September 2021 – Today, in its annual General Assembly CEWEP (once again) re-elected Paul De Bruycker as CEWEP President. Mr De Bruycker, representing CEWEP’s Belgian member, Belgian Waste-to-Energy (BW2E), has been CEWEP President since 2017.

CEWEP has also re-elected all five of its Deputy Presidents: Filippo Brandolini, representing Utilitalia, CEWEP’s Italian member, Hubert de Chefdebien of SVDU, France, Jacob Simonsen, the Danish Waste Association, Carsten Spohn of ITAD, Germany and Michiel Timmerije representing the Dutch Waste Management Association. CEWEP’s President and Deputy Presidents are elected every two years.

The re-election of CEWEP’s President and Deputy-Presidents represents the stability of CEWEP and the European Waste-to-Energy sector as a whole. CEWEP has been steadily delivering information and facts on Waste-to-Energy and integrated waste management for almost two decades. It is a reliable partner to the EU Institutions and other stakeholders on all items surrounding European environment, climate and energy policies. We are eager to continue this work and to constantly improve in the future”, said Paul De Bruycker.

CEWEP (Confederation of European Waste-to-Energy Plants), the umbrella association of the operators of Waste-to-Energy plants across Europe, was founded in 2002. CEWEP’s members are committed to ensuring high environmental standards, achieving low emissions and maintaining state of the art energy production from remaining waste that cannot be recycled in a sustainable way. Today with members from 23 countries CEWEP represents about 80% of the Waste-to-Energy market in Europe.

For further information, please contact

Ella Stengler
CEWEP Managing Director