Data and Maps

Landfill Taxes and Restrictions

In order to divert waste from landfills, most of the EU Member States apply a landfill tax or some form of landfill restriction. Here is the most up-to-date information on that subject.

You can download a full overview of landfill taxes and restrictions here. (Last update: 28.10.2021)

Landfill taxes

In 2021:

  • 23 EU Member States have a landfill tax (AT, BE, BG, CZ, DK, EE, EL, ES, FI, FR, HU, IE, IT, LT, LU*, LV, NL, PL, PT, RO, SE, SL, SK), as well as Switzerland and the United Kingdom.
  • 4 EU Member States do not have a landfill tax (CY, DE, HR, MT), as well as Norway.

Tax rates vary from 5€/t (LT) to more than 100€/t (BE).

*: a municipal tax is applied in Luxembourg

Landfill restrictions***

In 2021:

  • 16 EU Member States adopted restrictions (AT, BE, DE, DK, EE, FI, FR, HU, HR, LT, LU, NL, PL, SE, SL, SK), as well as Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.
  • 11 EU Member States do not have additional restrictions (BG, CY, CZ, EL, ES, IE, IT, LV, RO, MT, PT).

***landfill restriction: stream restricted from landfilling additionally to the requirements of Directive 1999/31/EC on the landfill of waste

Landfill taxes and restrictions
(Last update: 28.10.2021)